Tiruppattur Venkatachalamurti Ramakrishnan

Kliponar / Scientist  / Tiruppattur Venkatachalamurti Ramakrishnan

Tiruppattur Venkatachalamurti Ramakrishnan

Born: 14 August 1941

  • He is an Indian theoretical physicist known for his contributions in condensed matter physics.
  • He is at present DAE Homi Bhabha Professor of Physics at Benaras Hindu University and also the chancellor of Tripura University.
  • He was awarded the Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Award in 1983, TWAS Prize in 1990 and the Padma Shri in 2001.
  • He started his professional career as a lecturer in the Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur.
  • He shifted to the Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore in 1986 where he continued till 2003.
  • He has made seminal contributions to the scaling theory of electron localization.
  • He has made contributions to the theory of liquid to solid transition and of mixed-valence systems.
  • He has made crucial contributions to our understanding of condensed many-body systems.
  • His pioneering work started two major areas of activity.
  • These are the liquid-solid transition as well as related phenomena in dense classical systems, and the onset of electron localization in disordered systems.
  • He has also made many significant contributions to their growth.
  • In a third area, namely mixed valence in rare-earth metals, his work on the inverse orbital degeneracy expansion has had a major effect on the field.

Click here for more details

(Visited 104 times, 1 visits today)
No Comments

Post a Comment