Sachchidananda Hirananda Vatsyayan & Ravindra kelekar

Kliponar / Social activist  / Sachchidananda Hirananda Vatsyayan & Ravindra kelekar

Sachchidananda Hirananda Vatsyayan & Ravindra kelekar

Sachchidananda Hirananda Vatsyayan

Born: 7 March 1911

Died: 4 April 1987

  • He was a pioneering writer of modern Hindi  poetry, fiction, criticism and journalism.
  • He was one of the most prominent exponents of the Nayi Kavita and Prayogavaad movements in modern Hindi literature.
  • He also edited the Saptaks, a literary series, and started the Hindi newsweekly Dinaman.
  • He also translated some of his own works, as well as works of some other Indian authors to English.
  • He also translated some books of world literature into Hindi.
  • He edited “Sainik” from Agra (1936), “Vishal Bharat” from Calcutta (now Kolkata) (1936) and “Prateek” (1947) and “Naya Prateek” (1973) respectively from Allahabad and New Delhi. In English he edited “Vak” (1951) also.
  • He served as Editor of Jayprakash Narayans Everyman’s Weekly (1973–74) and Editor-in-Chief of Hindi daily Navbharat Times (1977–80) of the Times of India Group.

click here for more details

Ravindra kelekar

Born: 7 March 1925

Died: 27 August 2010

  • He was a noted Indian author who wrote primarily in the Konkani language, though he also wrote in Marathi and Hindi.
  • A Gandhian activist, freedom fighter and a pioneer in the modern Konkani movement.
  • He is a well known Konkani scholar, linguist, and creative thinker.
  • He  was a participant in the Indian freedom movement, Goa’s liberation movement, and later the campaign against the merger of the newly formed Goa with Maharashtra.
  • He played a key role in the founding of the Konkani Bhasha Mandal, which lead the literary campaign for the recognition of Konkani as a full-fledged language, and its reinstatement as the state language of Goa.
  • He authored nearly 100 books in the Konkani language, including Amchi Bhas Konkaneech, Shalent Konkani Kityak, Bahu-bhashik Bharatant Bhashenche Samajshastra and Himalayant, and also edited Jaagmagazine for more than two decades.
  • He  received the Padma Bhushan (2008), the Gomant Sharada Award of Kala Academy, the Sahitya Akademi Award(1977), and the Sahitya Akademi Fellowship (2007)—the highest award of the Sahitya Akademi, India’s National Academy of Letters.
  • He also received the 2006 Jnanpith Award,the first ever awarded to an author writing in the Konkani language,which was presented in July 2010.

click here for more details


(Visited 217 times, 1 visits today)
No Comments

Post a Comment