Moorkkanaat Krishnankutty Menon

Kliponar / Writer  / Moorkkanaat Krishnankutty Menon

Moorkkanaat Krishnankutty Menon

Born: 23 June 1928

Died: 15 May 1993

  • He better known by his nom de plume Vilasini, was an Indian writer from Kerala who wrote in Malayalam-language
  • He is the author of India’s longest novel, Avakasikal (The Inheritors), for which he won the Kendra Sahitya Akademi Award in 1981 and Vayalar Award in 1983.
  • His first novel Niramulla Nizhalukal won the Kerala Sahitya Akademi Award in 1966.
  • He made his debut as a novelist with the book Niramulla Nizhalukal (1965) that gives a vivid description of the lives of Malayalis in Singapore during the Second World War.
  • He has a special liking for the stream of consciousness novel.
  • As a novel that narrates the entire story through what passes in the minds of characters Oonjal is remarkable.
  • He followed the examples of James Joyce and Virginia Woolf in his novels.
  • His best-known work is Avakasikal (The Inheritors). It runs into 3958 pages, in four volumes, and is the longest novel in an Indian language.
  • He also translated many novels into Malayalam, including Pedro Páramo by Juan Rulfo and The Blind Owl (Boof-e koor) by Sadegh Hedayat.

click here for more details

(Visited 217 times, 1 visits today)
No Comments

Post a Comment