Chandrakant Sheth

Kliponar / Poet  / Chandrakant Sheth

Chandrakant Sheth

Born: 3 February 1938

  • He is a Gujarati poet, essayist, critic, translator and compiler from Gujarat, India.
  • His pen names include Aryaputra, Nand Samavedi, Balchadra and Daksh Prajapati.
  • He won the Sahitya Akademi Award for Gujarati in 1986 for his book Dhoolmani Paglio.
  • He served as a part-time lecturer at St. Xavier’s College, Ahmedabad in 1961–62.
  • He served as a professor at different colleges in Gujarat including Kapadvanj College (1962–63), Gujarat Vidyapith (1963–1966), Bhakta Vallabh Dhola College (1966–1972) and again Gujarat Vidyapith (1972–1979).
  • From 1979 to 1984, he served as the manager of K. L. Swadhyay Mandir, run by Gujarati Sahitya Parishad, and also worked as a co-editor of Gujarati Sahityakosh.
  • He again joined Gujarat Vidyapith and retired as the head of Gujarati Department.
  • He serves as an honorary at Gujarati Vishwkosh Trust, Ahmedabad.
  • He won Kumar Chandrak in 1964, Narmad Suvarna Chandrak in 1964, Ranjitram Suvarna Chandrak in 1985, Narsinh Mehta Award in 2005 and Sahitya Gaurav Puraskar in 2006.
  • His book Dhoolmani Paglio (1984) was awarded the Uma-Snehrashmi Prize (1984–85) and Sahitya Akademi Award (1986).
  • In 1986, he received Dhanji Kanji Gandhi Suvarna Chandrak which he shared with Rajendra Shah, a Gujarati poet.
  • He has also received the Chandrashekhar Thakkur Prize (1973), Ramprasad Bakshi Prize (1998), Anantrai Raval Vivechan Award (2000) and Natwarlal Malvi Prize (2001).
  • In 2018, the Sahitya Akademi awarded him Balsahitya Puraskar for his contribution in Gujarati children’s literature.

Click here for more details

(Visited 186 times, 1 visits today)
No Comments

Post a Comment